About Me

Hi, I'm Chris. I live in New York.

Quick Hits:

  • I spent 18 years in finance. You can read about that here.
  • Favorite place I've traveled to is South Africa.
  • Born and bred New Yorker
  • My interest in cooking sways between just getting things on the table and the more scientific, a la Serious Eats. Also, love figuring out how to re-purpose leftovers and random ingredients that have been sitting in the fridge.
  • I have probably eaten less vegetables than anyone else you have ever known.

What I like to do:

  • Skiing
    • Favorite Mountain: Whistler
    • Favorite Area: Utah, SLC area (Cottonwoods)
  • Paddleboarding
    • Pier 84, Manhattan - No, the Hudson is not gross!
    • Best Paddle: Circumnaving Manhattan
  • Climbing
    • Nothing cool, almost all gym climbing and some Gunks

What I like to think about:

  • Investing
    • Compounders
    • Permanent Portfolios
    • Process oriented
  • Learning
    • Oscillation between First Principles and Empiricism
    • Layers of Abstraction
    • Using analogs to communicate between teachers and learners
    • Tacit Knowledge / Naturalistic Decision Making
  • Automation / Iterative Improvement
  • Systems Thinking

N=1: Things I've done to shake up my life

  • Experimenting with Paleo/Primal/Carnivore
  • Meditation
  • Journaling
  • Teaching my wife to snowboard
  • Learning to paddleboard
  • Learning to climb
  • Yoga
  • Building this website
  • Improving my writing
  • Week of surf school
  • Week of golf school